Blog #11

Image result for fairy tales
https://www.google.com/search?q=fairy+tales&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwjSy6e1zJXmAhVxU98KHQuhA9QQ_AUoAnoECBIQBA&biw=1366&bih=625#imgrc=i3TeRvz7eDnQ8M:

Throughout this first semester I’ve learned a lot about the Grimm brothers, the fairy tales they’ve created, and the interpretations behind them. Since I was just a child, when I thought of fairy tales the first thing that would come to mind was the Disney movies, not the Grimm brothers who spent many years gathering and perfecting them. From Brier Rose, all the way to Rapunzel I have studied fairy tales I wouldn’t have even thought of viewing from another perspective. In this class I have made a PowerPoint, reporting on Maria Tartar’s “Sex and Violence: The Hardcore of Fairy Tales”, analyzing sexual perceptions in the classical tales as well as the brutal aspects of them. I have completed numerous quizzes and papers elaborating on the importance and prominence that the stories hold.

My favorite tale in the second half of the semester was “The Juniper Tree”. I enjoyed this tale more than the others because it took a much different spin than other fairy tales, the content was gory, raw, and unfiltered. The best part of the story was when the stepmother decapitated the boy but attempted to cover up his death by tying his head back onto his body with a cloth. She then tries to make his sister believe she killed him by telling her to smack him on the ear, knocking his head off his body.

Leave a comment